While visiting Yazoo County, Mississippi in the early 1830s, Mr. James Dick wrote separate letters to his brothers about the beauty of the land that he desire to purchase. When Mr. Nathaniel Dick and Dr. John Dick both responded to the letters, they each wrote, you can make no mistake buying such a property. Thus, James bought the property and named it No Mistake Plantation in 1833. Originally No Mistake was a cotton plantation of 12,000 acres. During James ownership he delegated management to a nephew, John Monroe Dick. However, it was sold in the late 1800s to the Smith family. Frank Pleasant from Madison County was the first Smith to own the No Mistake property. In 1972, Mrs. William H. Smith (Ethel Barfield Smith) owned and managed the plantation. Through years of care and love Mrs. Ethel made No Mistake popular for its elegant gardens. She designed the gardens to be breathtaking, complete with irises, camellias, daylilies, and much more! After Mrs. Ethels death, No Mistake was run as a B&B by her nephew, Earl Barfield, and his wife Katherine. Later, the remaining property was divided for auction and sold. The property retaining the No Mistake name fell into disrepair and changed owners at least twice. In December 2006, the current owners the Rev. Brandon and Mrs. Sandy Spain, purchased the plantation property consisting of 107 acres with the No Mistake house. Sandy soon discovered that she is a descendant of the Dick Family. In 2007 the cottages were built and the retreat opened in 2008. The Irish/Catholic-inspired Chapel was also built in 2008 and overlooks the Mississippi Delta.